Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 30

Thread: How to allow the user to select a printer?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Beech Hill - a village near Reading in the UK
    Posts
    2,404

    Default How to allow the user to select a printer?

    I just want to pop-up the standard printer dialog:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot 2022-09-14 at 14.55.02.jpg 
Views:	75 
Size:	47.7 KB 
ID:	15664

    How do I do that?

    Mike

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    4,691

    Default Re: How to allow the user to select a printer?

    it deppends on your reporting tool . the reporting tool should have mechanisms for that..
    Samuel Pizarro

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Beech Hill - a village near Reading in the UK
    Posts
    2,404

    Default Re: How to allow the user to select a printer?

    Samuel

    I'm not using a reporting tool - I just need to select a printer to send stuff to.

    Mike

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    4,691

    Default Re: How to allow the user to select a printer?

    Ok

    I have no idea on how you are going to send stuff to it...

    but, Vincent wrote a lib for handling printers back in VDF 12.0 age...


    Data Access Worldwide - Knowledge Base

    It may have what you need. But sorry I never tried it..

    It seems Focus and Ola had some experience with it..
    Printer WinAPI challenge (dataaccess.com)
    PrinterInfo Library - Vincent and all (dataaccess.com)
    Samuel Pizarro

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Beech Hill - a village near Reading in the UK
    Posts
    2,404

    Default Re: How to allow the user to select a printer?

    Thanks Samuel!

    Now just looking for the cDateTime Library it uses... hmm,,, not doing so well with that. I'll see if perhaps I don't actually need it.

    Mike

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    4,691

    Default Re: How to allow the user to select a printer?

    That one is referenced in the same kb

    there is a link for it there
    Samuel Pizarro

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Beech Hill - a village near Reading in the UK
    Posts
    2,404

    Default Re: How to allow the user to select a printer?

    Samuel

    OK, got that thanks.

    But alas, although it now compiles (after a bit of hacking around ) under 20.1, it doesn't actually work.

    Back to the drawing board.

    Mike

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    4,691

    Default Re: How to allow the user to select a printer?

    But alas, although it now compiles (after a bit of hacking around ) under 20.1, it doesn't actually work.
    :-(
    Samuel Pizarro

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    5,229

    Default Re: How to allow the user to select a printer?

    I think you just need to call the wide versions of the external functions
    Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm - Winston Churchill

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    4,691

    Default Re: How to allow the user to select a printer?

    --- wrong place --- Can be deleted!
    Samuel Pizarro

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •