Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Linking DF32 Console Mode to DF19.0 WebApp

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Edmonton Canada
    Posts
    933

    Default Linking DF32 Console Mode to DF19.0 WebApp

    We are starting to convert portions of a DF32 ConsoleMode app to DF19 WebApp.
    Its a rather large application comprised of many pieces.
    Instead of attempting the entire conversion at once, we will be doing it piecemeal.

    From a DF32 CM module list I would like to call a DF19 WebApp passing a couple of parameters.

    Does anyone have some thoughts on ways of doing this in the DF32 CM code?

    Thanks in advance

    RChi

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    5,470

    Default Re: Linking DF32 Console Mode to DF19.0 WebApp

    I dont think DF32 has any socket/http stuff so possibly your only option is to write a small DF19 windows app that has no UI and just calls the webapp

    You could pass it stuff on the command line via run program and the reply via a file or the database
    Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm - Winston Churchill

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    5,470

    Default Re: Linking DF32 Console Mode to DF19.0 WebApp

    Even this may not work because the run program may have to be a DOS app which means tre same technique but written in something else that can call a webservice
    Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm - Winston Churchill

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    5,470

    Default Re: Linking DF32 Console Mode to DF19.0 WebApp

    Or i guess have the df19 app polling for a disk file or db record to act upon
    Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm - Winston Churchill

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Edmonton Canada
    Posts
    933

    Default Re: Linking DF32 Console Mode to DF19.0 WebApp

    Thanks Focus
    Thinking about what you said I could have a Windows App that had a browser object in it that I could pass parameters to.
    Polling fits in some circumstances, but probably not this one.

  6. #6

    Default Re: Linking DF32 Console Mode to DF19.0 WebApp

    Archie,

    Passing a webapp parameters is normally just a matter of a URL with parameters.

    eg. http://yourwebapp.com/index.htm?param1=abc&param2=def

    If you open the URL using the default browser, you're halfway there.
    eg. "start URL" works fine here.
    --
    Wil

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Maasland, The Netherlands
    Posts
    2,605

    Default Re: Linking DF32 Console Mode to DF19.0 WebApp

    Another option is to create a queue mechanism. Create table with tasks, that you can fill with DF 32 and read with your web application. Having a task queue in your webapp might be interesting for another type of tasks too.
    Best regards,

    Peter van Mil
    Appvantage b.v.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Edmonton Canada
    Posts
    933

    Default Re: Linking DF32 Console Mode to DF19.0 WebApp

    Hello Peter
    We use the queue mechanism technique where we have a Windows application running on a central machine whose job is to do "stuff" for the DF32CM apps. There is only one instance of it running at the site. In fact if another starts the old one dies.

    In this case we want to have a WebApp for each user where they can enter data.
    I guess we could spawn the WebApp from the DF32CM app with a UUID for that app, then add tasks from the DF32CM app with that UUID so the WebApp would know that it is from him to process and to ignore others.
    I will think about that.

    Much appreciate the idea.
    That is what I am looking for at this stage, ideas before I start going down the rabbit hole.

    Thanks

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Edmonton Canada
    Posts
    933

    Default Re: Linking DF32 Console Mode to DF19.0 WebApp

    Hello Peter

    The queue method you mentioned and I elaborated on might be the "only way to go" based on one client's situation.
    They run our DF32CM app in Telnet while others use Terminal Server.
    Terminal Server allows GUI Windows apps so running a browser using Start URL will work nicely.
    Telnet not so much. It is very old school and does not allow any GUI.

    So we need to communicate from the DF32CM app running on Telnet to the workstation running the Telnet that has browser capability.
    A "ToDo" table shared by both with a common UserId or SessionId should do it.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Maasland, The Netherlands
    Posts
    2,605

    Default Re: Linking DF32 Console Mode to DF19.0 WebApp

    Hello Archie,

    I am glad that I could with help with the initial steps of this idea.
    Best regards,

    Peter van Mil
    Appvantage b.v.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •