Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Border_Style in dbView

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Somewhere in Vermont, USA - unless I'm not
    Posts
    9,517

    Default Border_Style in dbView

    Hi -

    RC2 (also RC1 & maybe beta(s)?) - I see that Border_Style in the Properties pane only has 2 choices: Border_Dialog & Border_Thick. Older versions have seven - as does the help.

    In particular, Border_Normal is missing & while I usually don't do "normal" - this is one place where I always have. Well - unless I want a view resizable of course.
    Garret

    All my life,I always wanted to be somebody. Now I see that I should have been more specific.


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Round Rock, TX
    Posts
    7,735

    Default Re: Border_Style in dbView

    Hi Garret,

    this was an intentional change, since the only Border_Styles that make sense for views are Border_Dialog and Border_Thick. Does that make sense?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Somewhere in Vermont, USA - unless I'm not
    Posts
    9,517

    Default Re: Border_Style in dbView

    Sure - if you say so I've always used Border_Normal - which may be the same as Dialog? Though I've never looked closely, I always figured Dialog might be different from Normal as a dialog is Modal.
    Garret

    All my life,I always wanted to be somebody. Now I see that I should have been more specific.


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Round Rock, TX
    Posts
    7,735

    Default Re: Border_Style in dbView

    It's really not modal, Border_Dialog and Border_Normal look and act identical.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Valencia
    Posts
    617

    Default Re: Border_Style in dbView

    All my views / panels are border_none or border_normal. In 17.0 first one don't use borders and the second puts only a black line around the panel. All the app is adjusted with the Skin. If you force to use only those, always appear a border OVER / AROUND the skin. Then the Skin Builder work goes to trash.

    Javier

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Round Rock, TX
    Posts
    7,735

    Default Re: Border_Style in dbView

    Hi Javier,

    this is not preventing you from using any other Border_Style, it only limits the selection for dbView objects to the two styles that are actually relevant to views. You can still manually add in any other style and any other style you already have still compiles and runs as before. Also, as I explained to Garret, Border_Dialog and Border_Normal look and act identical.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Round Lake, IL
    Posts
    1,804

    Default Re: Border_Style in dbView

    So if those two look and act identical, what's the difference? Why the two different style names?
    Todd Forsberg
    Idealease, Inc.
    Senior Programmer

    Web and Mobile Development: Think Outside the <DIV>

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Valencia
    Posts
    617

    Default Re: Border_Style in dbView

    Thank you Dennis.

    Javier

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •