PDA

View Full Version : CodeSense stop working after using multi line string



Allan Greis Eriksen
14-Nov-2022, 10:38 AM
When using a multi line string the CodeSense stop working in Studio 2022.


Use Windows.pkg
Use cHtmlHelp.pkg
Use cApplication.pkg
Use cConnection.pkg

Object oHtmlHelp is a cHtmlHelp
End_Object

Object oApplication is a cApplication

Object oConnection is a cConnection
Use LoginEncryption.pkg
Use DatabaseLoginDialog.dg
End_Object

Procedure Test
String sTestText
// Move @"Some text
//and text" to sTestText
Move sTest


End_Procedure

End_Object

Send Info_Box "Hello World" "DataFlex Basic Project"


In this example there is an out commented multiline. Place the cursor at the end of the line with Move sTest and hit Ctrl+Space. The CodeSense fills the rest of the name for the current value as expected so the line is now "Move sTestText".

Procedure Test
String sTestText
// Move @"Some text
//and text" to sTestText
Move sTestText

End_Procedure


Delete the inserted text and in comment the multiline.



Procedure Test
String sTestText
Move @"Some text
and text" to sTestText
Move sTest

End_Procedure

Place the cursor again at the end of the line "Move sTest" and hit Ctrl+Space. This time nothing happens. CodeSense is not helping creating the next line.
Manually fill the line like this


Procedure Test
String sTestText
Move @"Some text
and text" to sTestText
Move sTestText to sTestText

End_Procedure

Start the next line by typing "Move sTest". Note that CodeSense is again working and suggesting "Move" and "sTestText".

Bram
15-Nov-2022, 02:08 AM
When using a multi line string the CodeSense stop working in Studio 2022.


Use Windows.pkg
Use cHtmlHelp.pkg
Use cApplication.pkg
Use cConnection.pkg

Object oHtmlHelp is a cHtmlHelp
End_Object

Object oApplication is a cApplication

Object oConnection is a cConnection
Use LoginEncryption.pkg
Use DatabaseLoginDialog.dg
End_Object

Procedure Test
String sTestText
// Move @"Some text
//and text" to sTestText
Move sTest


End_Procedure

End_Object

Send Info_Box "Hello World" "DataFlex Basic Project"


In this example there is an out commented multiline. Place the cursor at the end of the line with Move sTest and hit Ctrl+Space. The CodeSense fills the rest of the name for the current value as expected so the line is now "Move sTestText".

Procedure Test
String sTestText
// Move @"Some text
//and text" to sTestText
Move sTestText

End_Procedure


Delete the inserted text and in comment the multiline.



Procedure Test
String sTestText
Move @"Some text
and text" to sTestText
Move sTest

End_Procedure

Place the cursor again at the end of the line "Move sTest" and hit Ctrl+Space. This time nothing happens. CodeSense is not helping creating the next line.
Manually fill the line like this


Procedure Test
String sTestText
Move @"Some text
and text" to sTestText
Move sTestText to sTestText

End_Procedure

Start the next line by typing "Move sTest". Note that CodeSense is again working and suggesting "Move" and "sTestText".

Hi Allen,

We are aware of this and it will be fixed next ref. Thanks for noticing!

Sincerely,

Bram Nijenkamp
Data Access Europe

Mike Peat
15-Nov-2022, 03:16 AM
+1