PDA

View Full Version : Studio Database Viewer (again)



DaveR
24-Dec-2021, 11:47 AM
This has to be in there and I can't find it, but how do I change the index being used in database viewer? Clicking on the header works up to a point, but when the same fields are used in several indexes it's unpredictable (to me, anyway)

Stephen W. Meeley
24-Dec-2021, 12:34 PM
Dave,

If a column participates in multiple indexes, Table Viewer will always use whichever index is that column's "main index" (there can be only one)...

https://docs.dataaccess.com/dataflexhelp/mergedProjects/Tools/Table_Viewer.htm

https://docs.dataaccess.com/dataflexhelp/mergedProjects/Tools/Defining_Columns.htm

DaveR
24-Dec-2021, 02:33 PM
I can see the logic, but as DF defaults those decisions for us it is sometimes inconvenient. It would be nice to be able to select the index to use.

When doing a table from scratch, designing indexes is iterative. What I start with isn't always what makes it to production, but I've found more than a few places where mainindex isn't the best one now that the system is actually in use.

Marco
24-Dec-2021, 06:51 PM
Hi Dave
In the dbexplorer (I know itís not what you asked) you do that by selecting the index node in the treeview.

DaveR
29-Dec-2021, 12:15 PM
Hi Dave
In the dbexplorer (I know itís not what you asked) you do that by selecting the index node in the treeview.

which is why I have a shortcut to both DBB and DBE on my taskbar. New tools still need some work.