PDA

View Full Version : AWS Traffic



Bob Worsley
12-Jan-2021, 03:00 PM
I thought that Iíd already posted this question but I canít find it anywhere.

My customer is moving their application and Postgres database to AWS. Every report uses a .bp and the statuspanel and the concern is that this causes a lot of traffic between the front end RDP and the database because every invoice and ID is shown just to keep the users occupied. AWS does charge for traffic so is this a valid concern? There are a few ways to cut it down, maybe by putting a mod function in and only showing every 10th or 20th ID, or maybe switch to an animated GIF?

Thoughts?

starzen
12-Jan-2021, 03:12 PM
what traffic are you looking at.

between database and RDP server it doesnt matter if you show it or not. if you dont use a constraint that can use the index or a sql filter or sql statement the data will go from the db server to the rdp server

Bob Worsley
12-Jan-2021, 03:28 PM
My understanding of this installation is that the users will RDP into an AWS client of some sort which will show the application and then of course connect to the database. A status panel running in a .bp would show data pulled from the database all the way out to the user so essentially end-to-end. Not sure if I've explained that well, I'm kind of new to this.

Michael Mullan
12-Jan-2021, 05:28 PM
Bob,

In the grand scheme of things. The RDP connection data is trivial. Don't worry about it. If the application server, and the DB server are separate then there's traffic between them, but I don't believe AWS charges for that traffic, only for traffic to the internet. A busy RDS session is less than a youtube video.

chuckatkinson
15-Jan-2021, 12:22 PM
RDP is only screen and keyboard. The data remains on the server.

Bob Worsley
15-Jan-2021, 02:23 PM
So not being "data" it shouldn't be of concern... Thanks Chuck