PDA

View Full Version : Studio Suggestion: Put workspace name in front of "Visual Dataflex Studio"



Jake Moffatt
24-Aug-2009, 04:43 PM
Sometimes I have more than one workspace open at a time (HOW AWESOME IS THAT FEATURE!) but I can't tell which is which:

http://support.dataaccess.com/Forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=2800&d=1251150024

Stephen W. Meeley
24-Aug-2009, 06:13 PM
Sometimes I have more than one workspace open at a time (HOW AWESOME IS THAT FEATURE!) but I can't tell which is which:

http://support.dataaccess.com/Forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=2800&d=1251150024
Jake,

If you hover over them the tool-tip will tell you which one is for which workspace.

seanyboy
25-Aug-2009, 09:20 AM
I'd quite like this feature too.
The tooltip thing works, but it can take a few seconds for it to appear.

Mark Powers
26-Aug-2009, 02:10 PM
I like that idea Jake - would make it quicker and easier to keep up with which workspace you are in.
Mark

Jake Moffatt
26-Aug-2009, 03:45 PM
Well I whipped up an AutoHotkey (http://support.dataaccess.com/Forums/AutoHotkey)script that fixes this for me.




RenameVDF()
{
If WinExist("Visual DataFlex Studio")
{
WinGetTitle, Title
StringReplace, Title, Title, Visual Dataflex Studio 12.1 -
WinSetTitle, %Title%
}
}

Loop
{
RenameVDF()
}
This sits in my tray and automatically renames the Studio window to everything that comes after "Visual Dataflex Studio 12.1 - ", leaving (Workspace Name) - [filename.ext] which is way more informative.

Dennis Piccioni
26-Aug-2009, 05:56 PM
Did you see Stephen's reply? Did that not work for you?

Jake Moffatt
26-Aug-2009, 06:12 PM
Yes, tooltips work. But now look what I have:

http://support.dataaccess.com/Forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=2812&stc=1&d=1251328283

It really is more easy to work that way.

Dennis Piccioni
26-Aug-2009, 07:04 PM
Oh yes, I agree, this is very cool! :-)

I was just wondering if the other method didn't work for you.