PDA

View Full Version : Is this under "What's New"?

Tod Brannen
24-Jul-2009, 05:29 PM
Greetings,

I am new to VDF 15 and maybe I missed something. If I pop up the property panel on a view, there is a property called "Label" with the description I put in there and it can be changed. However, and maybe this is just me, the property panel for a dbForm seems not to have a "Label" property. Now this is on a tiny little view I just created using the view wizard. I wanted to change the label from "Mail Name" to "Name" but could not figure it out. I also looked at an old view that was already in the project when I migrated it over from VDF 11. Still no "Label" property on a dbForm. I did a quick search on the forums also. I know it is going to be something simple and I will feel stupid, but how can I change the label on a dbForm?

Sonny Falk
24-Jul-2009, 05:44 PM
...the property panel for a dbForm seems not to have a "Label" property.

Sounds like an old version of vdfquery which caused this problem. See the following thread http://support.dataaccess.com/forums/showthread.php?t=988. That thread is from 2007, so there may be an even newer version of vdfquery available, best would be to get the latest.

Tod Brannen
24-Jul-2009, 06:00 PM
I will check it out on Monday. Have an nice weekend all.

Peter Bosch
25-Jul-2009, 09:16 AM
Tod: what have changed: in VDF 15 Label is not only a single property, now it is a whole group, where you have many properties for the label.

Regards
Peter

Tod Brannen
27-Jul-2009, 11:31 AM
Peter,

Thanks, but this does not explain why I can't see the text for the label "Vendor Name" in the properties, so I can change it. I am going to look at updating my VdfQuery to see if that helps.

Peter van Mil
27-Jul-2009, 11:39 AM
If you don't use VPE you can remove vpe3x.pkg. This will normally solve the problem.

Tod Brannen
20-Aug-2009, 10:32 AM
Basically, I can just type in the code such as:

Set Label to "My Label"
Set Label_Col_Offset to 2