PDA

View Full Version : Error : Too many indicators



Moreira
11-Feb-2005, 08:58 AM
Hi all,

An error has begun to happen when compiling one of my applications :

ERROR: 4335 Too many indicators ON LINE: 699 (129798) OF FILE:
s:\siclo7\AppSrc\NF_MIL.INC

Is there a limit to create indicators ? How many indicators can I create in
my application ?
I an using VDF 7

Thanks...

Antonio Moreira
moreirax@terra.com.br

Jim Albright
11-Feb-2005, 01:32 PM
I believe if you used indicators the limit used to be 3 on a line and 127 in a program (38 were
predefined leaving 89 to the programmer).

[active][Underage][Male] showln "Not OK"

Perhaps you should consider changing all your indicators to type Boolean since Indicate and
Indicators are obsolete in VDF.

boolean bActive bUnderage bMale
set bMale to true
set bActive to false
if (iAge > = 25) set bUnderAge to False
if ((bActive) and (bUnderAge) and (bMale)) send stop_box "Not OK"


Jim

"Moreira" <moreirax@terra.com.br> wrote in message news:r5BIdqFEFHA.4864@dacmail.dataaccess.com...
> Hi all,
>
> An error has begun to happen when compiling one of my applications :
>
> ERROR: 4335 Too many indicators ON LINE: 699 (129798) OF FILE:
> s:\siclo7\AppSrc\NF_MIL.INC
>
> Is there a limit to create indicators ? How many indicators can I create in
> my application ?
> I an using VDF 7
>
> Thanks...
>
> Antonio Moreira
> moreirax@terra.com.br
>
>
>
>
>
>

Peter Donovan
12-Feb-2005, 06:42 PM
Hi Jim, PMJI but there seems to be an error with your code I think:
First, this is VDF7 so we must use DFTrue etc.
Second, you set a property, but MOVE to a variable.
I believe your code would have caused a gpf....

"Jim Albright"wrote in message
boolean bActive bUnderage bMale
Move DFTrue To bMale
Move DFFalse To bActive
if (iAge > = 25) Move DFFalse To bUnderAge
if ((bActive) and (bUnderAge) and (bMale)) send stop_box "Not OK"

Note, Antonio probably needs properties rather than variables so he can
share them thru the program in different procedures and functions:

// in the view Top Code (above green line)
Property Boolean pbActive Public False
Property Boolean pbUnderage Public False
Property Boolean Public False

// anywhere inside the view:

If (pbActive(Self)) Begin
......
End
Set pbActive To DFFalse

Regards,
Peter Donovan
Sonata Software
www.SonataSoftware.US

Peter Donovan
12-Feb-2005, 06:44 PM
Sidenote: the opposite of:

If (pbActive(Self)) Begin
End
is
If (Not(pbActive(Self))) Begin
End
Peter

Jim Albright
14-Feb-2005, 12:23 PM
Peter,

I was not using real code. And I have not used VDF7 in years!!!!! I am currently using VDF10.0
but you are correct it should have been ((or I should have created properties (I usually use
properties for this....)

Move True to bMale

etc.

Jim

"Peter Donovan" <sonatasoftwareus@yahoo.com> wrote in message
news:NWbHbyVEFHA.1912@dacmail.dataaccess.com...
> Hi Jim, PMJI but there seems to be an error with your code I think:
> First, this is VDF7 so we must use DFTrue etc.
> Second, you set a property, but MOVE to a variable.
> I believe your code would have caused a gpf....
>
> "Jim Albright"wrote in message
> boolean bActive bUnderage bMale
> Move DFTrue To bMale
> Move DFFalse To bActive
> if (iAge > = 25) Move DFFalse To bUnderAge
> if ((bActive) and (bUnderAge) and (bMale)) send stop_box "Not OK"
>
> Note, Antonio probably needs properties rather than variables so he can share them thru the
> program in different procedures and functions:
>
> // in the view Top Code (above green line)
> Property Boolean pbActive Public False
> Property Boolean pbUnderage Public False
> Property Boolean Public False
>
> // anywhere inside the view:
>
> If (pbActive(Self)) Begin
> ......
> End
> Set pbActive To DFFalse
>
> Regards,
> Peter Donovan
> Sonata Software
> www.SonataSoftware.US
>
>
>

Larry Heiges
14-Feb-2005, 01:27 PM
Moreira,

Indicators are global variables in a VDF program. An indicator set in
one view will be the same one used in another view, which may lead to
big debugging problems (breaks encapsulation).

Larry Heiges
App-2-Win Systems, Inc.
LookFeel for Windows
http://app-2-win.com
LFW7sp3
LFW9.1
LFW10
working on LFWeb