PDA

View Full Version : Index file damaged Error 22



Curtis Krauskopf
8-Feb-2005, 09:20 PM
Database Builder created an index file for an empty datafile that the
runtime claims is damaged.

Here's how to reproduce the problem:

Create a new, empty datafile and give it one field defined as either Numeric
2.0 or Numeric 4.0.

Create an index for the field. It doesn't matter if you include recnum or
not -- the error appears either way.

Save the datafile and then launch Database Explorer. The error message in
Database Explorer is:

Index file damaged c:\tdm\cs\Data\Finance.k1 Source = Flexdrvr.isam
Error Number 22

Setting the maximum number of records to a reasonable value, such as 50,
does not cause the problem to go away.

The only way I can work around this problem is to define the field as
Numeric 6.0 or higher.

I'm using VDF9.1 on Windows XP SP1.

I don't have more current versions of VDF loaded on this development
machine -- can someone test this on 10.1 or the alpha 11 to see if this
problem is fixed there?

Curtis

Garret Mott
8-Feb-2005, 09:29 PM
Just tried it in 10.1 XP Pro SP2 - No error. Added a record - no problem.
I defined it both ways (2.0 & 4.0) same thing.

Garret

"Curtis Krauskopf" <curtis@decompile.com> wrote in message
news:nhPzk3kDFHA.1248@dacmail.dataaccess.com...
> Database Builder created an index file for an empty datafile that the
> runtime claims is damaged.
>
> Here's how to reproduce the problem:
>
> Create a new, empty datafile and give it one field defined as either
> Numeric
> 2.0 or Numeric 4.0.
>
> Create an index for the field. It doesn't matter if you include recnum or
> not -- the error appears either way.
>
> Save the datafile and then launch Database Explorer. The error message in
> Database Explorer is:
>
> Index file damaged c:\tdm\cs\Data\Finance.k1 Source = Flexdrvr.isam
> Error Number 22
>
> Setting the maximum number of records to a reasonable value, such as 50,
> does not cause the problem to go away.
>
> The only way I can work around this problem is to define the field as
> Numeric 6.0 or higher.
>
> I'm using VDF9.1 on Windows XP SP1.
>
> I don't have more current versions of VDF loaded on this development
> machine -- can someone test this on 10.1 or the alpha 11 to see if this
> problem is fixed there?
>
> Curtis
>
>

Curtis Krauskopf
8-Feb-2005, 11:42 PM
Thanks Garret. Sounds good to me.

Curtis
"Garret Mott" <garret@automatesoftware.com> wrote in message
news:4jJm88kDFHA.1248@dacmail.dataaccess.com...
> Just tried it in 10.1 XP Pro SP2 - No error. Added a record - no
problem.
> I defined it both ways (2.0 & 4.0) same thing.
>
> Garret
>