PDA

View Full Version : How to integrate a custom WebApplication in a Electos Site?



Nicolas Gerig
20-Mar-2007, 06:33 AM
We are looking for the best way to integrate a custom WebApplication in
a Electos Website.

The ideal would be to have a setup where:
1. Other ELECTOS Projects can be deployed parallel.
2. By every new Electos version our work to update has to be minimum.
3. The Static part of the Website has to be controlled by CMS-Electos.

The Electos source code is in house.

Our First Exercise: New Websites with Electos Studio have successfully
been made. There were no problems adding our own designs.

Our Second Exercise: A WebApp Project (with Ajax integrated) has
successfully been made.

Our Third Exercise: Adding the "WebApplication Page" as a Link to the
Electos page.
This exercise was a success and both "WebApp.exe" seem to run same time.
But this can't be our solution, because the Application is not "in Site"
(no design, no menu), and we do not want to copy the design in and put a
static coded menu!

The Open Question: We need help how to reach that in a optimal way.
Because our tests failed.
For example we tried to add Electos as a library to our Application. We
also tried to other way round, but we did not manage to get a running
asp template with the Application in.

Thanks for answers, ideas, and hints.

(PS: Because of a complex design we think we can't solve that with iframes.)


Nicolas Gerig
________________________
mathiesen & mathiesen AG

David Martinko
20-Mar-2007, 07:26 AM
www.RedeemedHosting.com hosts Electos websites along with VDF Web
applications. We currently have webapps which use Electos on the front end.
If you are interested in having me host your apps, let me know.

=Dave
RedeemedSoftware@hotmail.com or 248-535-7495


"Nicolas Gerig" <ng@m-m.ag> wrote in message
news:Vs99qPuaHHA.3796@dacmail.dataaccess.com...
> We are looking for the best way to integrate a custom WebApplication in a
> Electos Website.
>
> The ideal would be to have a setup where:
> 1. Other ELECTOS Projects can be deployed parallel.
> 2. By every new Electos version our work to update has to be minimum.
> 3. The Static part of the Website has to be controlled by CMS-Electos.
>
> The Electos source code is in house.
>
> Our First Exercise: New Websites with Electos Studio have successfully
> been made. There were no problems adding our own designs.
>
> Our Second Exercise: A WebApp Project (with Ajax integrated) has
> successfully been made.
>
> Our Third Exercise: Adding the "WebApplication Page" as a Link to the
> Electos page.
> This exercise was a success and both "WebApp.exe" seem to run same time.
> But this can't be our solution, because the Application is not "in Site"
> (no design, no menu), and we do not want to copy the design in and put a
> static coded menu!
>
> The Open Question: We need help how to reach that in a optimal way.
> Because our tests failed.
> For example we tried to add Electos as a library to our Application. We
> also tried to other way round, but we did not manage to get a running asp
> template with the Application in.
>
> Thanks for answers, ideas, and hints.
>
> (PS: Because of a complex design we think we can't solve that with
> iframes.)
>
>
> Nicolas Gerig
> ________________________
> mathiesen & mathiesen AG

Vincent Oorsprong
21-Mar-2007, 04:23 AM
Nicholas,

Hmm, you have ruled out ALL the options you have, so what to say?

The options are:
- Modify - build on top of - Electos
- Use Iframes
- Use a different app with the same designs so that the user "thinks" he is
in the same app/website

--
Regards,
Vincent Oorsprong
Data Access Europe B.V.
http://www.dataaccess.nl

Nicolas Gerig
26-Mar-2007, 11:23 AM
Vincent Oorsprong schrieb:
> Nicholas,
>
> Hmm, you have ruled out ALL the options you have, so what to say?
>
> The options are:
> - Modify - build on top of - Electos
> - Use Iframes
> - Use a different app with the same designs so that the user "thinks" he is
> in the same app/website
>

Well, then we have to use the first possibility.

But thats the one I keep getting problems:

I tried (for start) to add a very simple WebObject (HelloWorld.wo "Quick
Start - My first WebApplication") to Electos.

After compiling successfully had finished Electos had no damage and
everthing ran normally.
I tried to find a way putting my "HelloWorld.asp" into the Electospage.
So I copied the normal.asp Design in Electos, named the copy
"HelloWorld.asp".
Now I replaced the code that usually shows the content by the one I
needed for my HelloWorld application.
Creating a new Electos page that uses this special template
(HelloWorld.asp).
The Electos page is not affected, but the "Hello World" Category just
gives an Error:

------------------------------------------------
page cannot be found...

Runtime error in Microsoft VBScript (0x800A01F4)
Undefined Variable: 'sName'
/TestWebsite/HelloWorld.asp, line 90
------------------------------------------------

I was wondering why here the variables were undefined but workin in
Quick Start...
Well, I defined them adding "dim sName, sResult" to "HelloWorld.asp".

Since then, I could see my Site with those two input fields and the
submit button in the correct design...
But when I tried to use the HelloWorld function the following error occurs:

------------------------------------------------
page cannot be found...

Runtime error in Microsoft VBScript (0x800A01F4)
Undefined Variable: 'oHelloWorld'
/TestWebsite/HelloWorld.asp, line 80

Site:
POST 23 bytes to /TestWebsite/HelloWorld.asp

POST Data:
Name=Depp&Result=&go=Go
------------------------------------------------

Well, I realised, my ASPage is not linked correctly to the WebObject...

Whats the fault in my proceeding?
How is it meant to modify Electos?

Vincent Oorsprong
27-Mar-2007, 01:29 AM
Nicolas,

Have you checked if oHelloWorld is present in the global.asa file of the
modified Electos workspace. You would have to do the same with any other
webapplication.

--
Regards,
Vincent Oorsprong
Data Access Europe B.V.
http://www.dataaccess.nl

Nicolas Gerig
27-Mar-2007, 04:53 AM
Vincent Oorsprong schrieb:
> Nicolas,
>
> Have you checked if oHelloWorld is present in the global.asa file of the
> modified Electos workspace. You would have to do the same with any other
> webapplication.
>
Yes, it is present.

------------------------------------------------------------
....
<OBJECT RUNAT=Server SCOPE=Session ID=oHelloWorld
PROGID="WebAppServer.WebBusinessProcess.12.0">
</OBJECT>
....

<SCRIPT LANGUAGE=VBScript RUNAT=Server>
SUB Session_OnStart
...
...
oHelloWorld.Name="oHelloWorld"
...
END SUB
</SCRIPT>
------------------------------------------------------------

nicolas

Thijs Nijhuis
11-Apr-2007, 02:58 AM
Is the oHelloWorld object also present in the global.asa of the website
directory (..\Electos\Websites\<websitename>\AppHtml) ? It uses a different
global.asa (also a different web app) than the Studio and only has the
oPublisher wo (and oWebshopPublisher for 3.0) by default.

(sorry for the late reply)

-Thijs


"Nicolas Gerig" <ng@m-m.ag> wrote in message
news:a%23$3XXFcHHA.5880@dacmail.dataaccess.com...
> Vincent Oorsprong schrieb:
>> Nicolas,
>>
>> Have you checked if oHelloWorld is present in the global.asa file of the
>> modified Electos workspace. You would have to do the same with any other
>> webapplication.
>>
> Yes, it is present.
>
> ------------------------------------------------------------
> ...
> <OBJECT RUNAT=Server SCOPE=Session ID=oHelloWorld
> PROGID="WebAppServer.WebBusinessProcess.12.0">
> </OBJECT>
> ...
>
> <SCRIPT LANGUAGE=VBScript RUNAT=Server>
> SUB Session_OnStart
> ...
> ...
> oHelloWorld.Name="oHelloWorld"
> ...
> END SUB
> </SCRIPT>
> ------------------------------------------------------------
>
> nicolas