PDA

View Full Version : DF31C Paths



Terry
24-Nov-2005, 06:35 PM
Hi guys,
I have a basic question here about paths. When I use a folder off the root directory things work fine.
When I put it several subdirectorys in it won't work.

I am running this in a batch file to start the program and it works fine:
.................................................
echo off
if "%1" == "LAST" GOTO last
if "%1" == "last" GOTO last
if "%1" == "l" GOTO last
if "%1" == "L" GOTO last
path C:\dataa\BIN;%path%
GOTO :continue
:last
path %path%;C:\dataa\BIN
:continue
set dfenv=C:\dataa\dfenv.cfg
dfrun base
..................................................
The dfenv.cfg file has this in it.
dfpath=.;C:\dataa;C:\dataa\BIN;C:\dataa\lib;C:\dat aa\usr

If I copy the exact contents to say c:\vdf\subfolder\dataa
and replace all the c:\datta entrys with the new c:\vdf\subfolder\dataa then it won't work!.

It comes up with error:
DFRun is not a recognized internal or external command, operable program or batch file.

I know I'm doing something stupid wrong but I've spent hours on this and its getting real frustrating.

Thanks for any help guys,

Regards
Terry
Brisbane
Australia

LasseJ
24-Nov-2005, 07:38 PM
Terry

I just made a small test. I named the folder as you had them and it didn't run. Hmmm.. I then shortended the
SUBFOLDER (9 chars) to to SUBFOLDE (8 chars) and then it was OK again. I guess it's the old DOS 8.3 that comes into play here....

Regards
Lars J
"Terry" <terryf@mrmechanic.com.au> skrev i meddelandet news:EM2vH$U8FHA.2168@dacmail.dataaccess.com...
Hi guys,
I have a basic question here about paths. When I use a folder off the root directory things work fine.
When I put it several subdirectorys in it won't work.

I am running this in a batch file to start the program and it works fine:
................................................
echo off
if "%1" == "LAST" GOTO last
if "%1" == "last" GOTO last
if "%1" == "l" GOTO last
if "%1" == "L" GOTO last
path C:\dataa\BIN;%path%
GOTO :continue
:last
path %path%;C:\dataa\BIN
:continue
set dfenv=C:\dataa\dfenv.cfg
dfrun base
.................................................
The dfenv.cfg file has this in it.
dfpath=.;C:\dataa;C:\dataa\BIN;C:\dataa\lib;C:\dat aa\usr

If I copy the exact contents to say c:\vdf\subfolder\dataa
and replace all the c:\datta entrys with the new c:\vdf\subfolder\dataa then it won't work!.

It comes up with error:
DFRun is not a recognized internal or external command, operable program or batch file.

I know I'm doing something stupid wrong but I've spent hours on this and its getting real frustrating.

Thanks for any help guys,

Regards
Terry
Brisbane
Australia

Terry
25-Nov-2005, 02:16 PM
Hi Lars,

You got it mate!! The directory I was trying to use was 10 characters long. I shortened it to 8 and it works. Frustrating but thanks for that. It should have been obvious but I missed it.
Thanks
Regards
Terry
"Lars Jarnhäll" <LasseJ@oasystem.se> wrote in message news:FezEAiV8FHA.2156@dacmail.dataaccess.com...
Terry

I just made a small test. I named the folder as you had them and it didn't run. Hmmm.. I then shortended the
SUBFOLDER (9 chars) to to SUBFOLDE (8 chars) and then it was OK again. I guess it's the old DOS 8.3 that comes into play here....

Regards
Lars J
"Terry" <terryf@mrmechanic.com.au> skrev i meddelandet news:EM2vH$U8FHA.2168@dacmail.dataaccess.com...
Hi guys,
I have a basic question here about paths. When I use a folder off the root directory things work fine.
When I put it several subdirectorys in it won't work.

I am running this in a batch file to start the program and it works fine:
................................................
echo off
if "%1" == "LAST" GOTO last
if "%1" == "last" GOTO last
if "%1" == "l" GOTO last
if "%1" == "L" GOTO last
path C:\dataa\BIN;%path%
GOTO :continue
:last
path %path%;C:\dataa\BIN
:continue
set dfenv=C:\dataa\dfenv.cfg
dfrun base
.................................................
The dfenv.cfg file has this in it.
dfpath=.;C:\dataa;C:\dataa\BIN;C:\dataa\lib;C:\dat aa\usr

If I copy the exact contents to say c:\vdf\subfolder\dataa
and replace all the c:\datta entrys with the new c:\vdf\subfolder\dataa then it won't work!.

It comes up with error:
DFRun is not a recognized internal or external command, operable program or batch file.

I know I'm doing something stupid wrong but I've spent hours on this and its getting real frustrating.

Thanks for any help guys,

Regards
Terry
Brisbane
Australia