PDA

View Full Version : DF3.0 vs DF3.1+



Raveen Ryan Sundram
6-Mar-2005, 06:29 PM
Hi,

Is there a way to disable CLEARSCREEN in the ABORT command in DF3.1 and
DF3.2?

In DF3.0, the ABORT command simply end the program but does NOT clearscreen.
In DF3.1 & DF3.2, the ABORT command clears the screen and then ends the
program

Can this be disabled? I don't want DF3.1 / DF3.2 to clearscreen when it
ends.

Thanks

--
Regards,
Raveen Ryan Sundram
Excellent Software Ltd

Paul Cooling
6-Mar-2005, 08:35 PM
You can change FMAC and then recompile all your programs.


Raveen Ryan Sundram wrote:
> Hi,
>
> Is there a way to disable CLEARSCREEN in the ABORT command in DF3.1 and
> DF3.2?
>
> In DF3.0, the ABORT command simply end the program but does NOT clearscreen.
> In DF3.1 & DF3.2, the ABORT command clears the screen and then ends the
> program
>
> Can this be disabled? I don't want DF3.1 / DF3.2 to clearscreen when it
> ends.
>
> Thanks
>

Raveen Ryan Sundram
6-Mar-2005, 08:44 PM
Paul,

I tried comparing the DF30 and the DF31 FMAC, but I can't seem to find the
difference.

Can you point it out for me?

FMAC.DF31
//////////////////////////////
#COMMAND ABORT &.
!A [] $040
#ENDCOMMAND

FMAC.DF30
//////////////////////////////
#COMMAND ABORT &.
!A [] $040
#ENDCOMMAND

Thanks

Raveen


"Paul Cooling" <paul.cooling@sympatico.ca> wrote in message
news:ap4HgXrIFHA.1248@dacmail.dataaccess.com...
> You can change FMAC and then recompile all your programs.
>
>
> Raveen Ryan Sundram wrote:
> > Hi,
> >
> > Is there a way to disable CLEARSCREEN in the ABORT command in DF3.1 and
> > DF3.2?
> >
> > In DF3.0, the ABORT command simply end the program but does NOT
clearscreen.
> > In DF3.1 & DF3.2, the ABORT command clears the screen and then ends the
> > program
> >
> > Can this be disabled? I don't want DF3.1 / DF3.2 to clearscreen when it
> > ends.
> >
> > Thanks
> >

Paul Cooling
6-Mar-2005, 09:05 PM
Raveen:
I didn't even look at FMAC. In 2.1/2.2 abort had separate lines, but as
you showed there is now just one line for the command. It seems that 2.3
and above only have one line for abort. (Back in the late 80's computers
CPU's were 5-16MHz so we changed it.)
I guess you are stuck, sorry about that.


Raveen Ryan Sundram wrote:
> Paul,
>
> I tried comparing the DF30 and the DF31 FMAC, but I can't seem to find the
> difference.
>
> Can you point it out for me?
>
> FMAC.DF31
> //////////////////////////////
> #COMMAND ABORT &.
> !A [] $040
> #ENDCOMMAND
>
> FMAC.DF30
> //////////////////////////////
> #COMMAND ABORT &.
> !A [] $040
> #ENDCOMMAND
>
> Thanks
>
> Raveen
>
>
> "Paul Cooling" <paul.cooling@sympatico.ca> wrote in message
> news:ap4HgXrIFHA.1248@dacmail.dataaccess.com...
>
>>You can change FMAC and then recompile all your programs.
>>
>>
>>Raveen Ryan Sundram wrote:
>>
>>>Hi,
>>>
>>>Is there a way to disable CLEARSCREEN in the ABORT command in DF3.1 and
>>>DF3.2?
>>>
>>>In DF3.0, the ABORT command simply end the program but does NOT
>
> clearscreen.
>
>>>In DF3.1 & DF3.2, the ABORT command clears the screen and then ends the
>>>program
>>>
>>>Can this be disabled? I don't want DF3.1 / DF3.2 to clearscreen when it
>>>ends.
>>>
>>>Thanks
>>>
>
>
>

Joerg Thuemmler
7-Mar-2005, 01:42 AM
Raveen,

If it's possible - seems you want to preserve the last screens
output when returning to command interpreter. The only way I see is
to end the program with

runprogram ""

this doesn't clean the screen but opens another instance of command
interpreter (subshell). So if thats a problem for you, yet another
"workaround": output last screen into textfile and let display this
by the bathc file you call the df application with... (I think most
df app are called by batch files...)

Funny: the df encyclopedia sent with df3.1 says "it does not clear
the screen" ??? But it does - under Linux at least.

joerg

Paul Cooling wrote:
> Raveen:
> I didn't even look at FMAC. In 2.1/2.2 abort had separate lines, but as
> you showed there is now just one line for the command. It seems that 2.3
> and above only have one line for abort. (Back in the late 80's computers
> CPU's were 5-16MHz so we changed it.)
> I guess you are stuck, sorry about that.
>
>
> Raveen Ryan Sundram wrote:
>
>> Paul,
>>
>> I tried comparing the DF30 and the DF31 FMAC, but I can't seem to find
>> the
>> difference.
>>
>> Can you point it out for me?
>>
>> FMAC.DF31
>> //////////////////////////////
>> #COMMAND ABORT &.
>> !A [] $040
>> #ENDCOMMAND
>>
>> FMAC.DF30
>> //////////////////////////////
>> #COMMAND ABORT &.
>> !A [] $040
>> #ENDCOMMAND
>>
>> Thanks
>>
>> Raveen
>>
>>
>> "Paul Cooling" <paul.cooling@sympatico.ca> wrote in message
>> news:ap4HgXrIFHA.1248@dacmail.dataaccess.com...
>>
>>> You can change FMAC and then recompile all your programs.
>>>
>>>
>>> Raveen Ryan Sundram wrote:
>>>
>>>> Hi,
>>>>
>>>> Is there a way to disable CLEARSCREEN in the ABORT command in DF3.1 and
>>>> DF3.2?
>>>>
>>>> In DF3.0, the ABORT command simply end the program but does NOT
>>
>>
>> clearscreen.
>>
>>>> In DF3.1 & DF3.2, the ABORT command clears the screen and then ends the
>>>> program
>>>>
>>>> Can this be disabled? I don't want DF3.1 / DF3.2 to clearscreen when it
>>>> ends.
>>>>
>>>> Thanks
>>>>
>>
>>
>>

wila
7-Mar-2005, 03:22 AM
Raveen,

There are other ways in achieving this.
Not really relevant, but for dbase there used to be a save screen /
restore screen command to do this.

Assuming that you're on dos/windows console mode, try:
ftp://ftp.simtel.net/pub/simtelnet/msdos/screen/scrpe201.zip

--
Wil


Raveen Ryan Sundram wrote:
> Hi,
>
> Is there a way to disable CLEARSCREEN in the ABORT command in DF3.1 and
> DF3.2?
>
> In DF3.0, the ABORT command simply end the program but does NOT clearscreen.
> In DF3.1 & DF3.2, the ABORT command clears the screen and then ends the
> program
>
> Can this be disabled? I don't want DF3.1 / DF3.2 to clearscreen when it
> ends.
>
> Thanks
>