PDA

View Full Version : Re: Converting to RDC



Stephen W. Meeley
21-Feb-2006, 07:03 AM
Joe,

It all depends on what you did when using the legacy Crystal front-end.
If you essentially used the Studio to generate report front-ends with
the Wizard (and then didn't really modify those front-end report views
in any significant manner), you can repeat that process with the new
Wizard. You have not lost any capability in the Wizard; it just
generated the RDC style code instead of the API style code.

If, on the other hand, you have made modifications to the report views,
those modifications would have to be "translated" from the API interface
to the RDC interface. You would have the option to either "translate"
the entire existing report view manually or reapply the modifications to
the new Wizard-generated code. You'd need to experiment a bit to see
which works out better.

Best regards,

-SWM-
-----Original Message-----
From: Joe Coley [mailto:sjoec@charter.net]
Posted At: Monday, February 20, 2006 6:58 PM
Posted To: crystal-reports
Conversation: Converting to RDC
Subject: Re: Converting to RDC

Guess I'm in for some major reconfigurations with the IDE -- assuming I
can
use the IDE to create the "front end" of the report which already
exists. I
have numerous selections etc. in my callouts to the reports. Do I need
to
make any changes in the actual Crystal report itself? (When you say I
have
to change all of the existing calls ...etc. -- that sounds like
something
for a "real" programmer to do, which is NOT me! Am expecting the IDE to
do
all that work for me.) Will I be disappointed, or can I reasonably
expect
that if I have my report laid out in Crystal that using the IDE I'll be
able
to pretty much do what I have been doing in the IDE?


"David Martinko" <RedeemedSoftware@Hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:Fg7JD9jNGHA.4760@dacmail.dataaccess.com...
> The CrystalReport Class makes calls using API to control printing. The
> cCrystal (RDC) uses COM where the report is actually an object within
your
> program allowing you to talk "directly" to the report.
>
> These are 2 totally different ways of using crystal. They have
different
> messages (or names of messages) so you can't just switch the class and
start
> going. You have to change all of your existing calls to methods that
use
API
> to use the corresponding COM calls.
>
> --
> David Martinko
> Redeemed Software
> 248-535-7495
> RedeemedSoftware(SHIFT+2)Hotmail(PERIOD)com
> www.redeemedsoftware.com
> www.redeemedhosting.com
>
> "Joe Coley" <sjoec@charter.net> wrote in message
> news:DTemnkiNGHA.4760@dacmail.dataaccess.com...
> Should one be able to just callout the new cCrystal class instead of
the
> CrystalReport class and run existing reports which were created within
> either Crystal 9 or 11? I have not had success with it, and just want
to
> verify that I must go through and recreate all my VDF RVs. (Much more
work
> than I am enthused about doing!)
>
>
>
>

Joe Coley
21-Feb-2006, 08:10 AM
Thanks for the input guys, really appreciated. Hopefully since I'm
basically a "wizard" sort of developer (as opposed to a "real" programmer
:-), I'll be able to get what I need without having to call in the troops
for a rescue. Time to experiment -- finally have my customer at a place
where I can run both the old and new. Am ready to move ahead.

Thanks again guys.
Joe

"Stephen Meeley" <stephen-m@dataaccess.com> wrote in message
news:dK$6h7tNGHA.4108@dacmail.dataaccess.com...
Joe,

It all depends on what you did when using the legacy Crystal front-end.
If you essentially used the Studio to generate report front-ends with
the Wizard (and then didn't really modify those front-end report views
in any significant manner), you can repeat that process with the new
Wizard. You have not lost any capability in the Wizard; it just
generated the RDC style code instead of the API style code.

If, on the other hand, you have made modifications to the report views,
those modifications would have to be "translated" from the API interface
to the RDC interface. You would have the option to either "translate"
the entire existing report view manually or reapply the modifications to
the new Wizard-generated code. You'd need to experiment a bit to see
which works out better.

Best regards,

-SWM-
-----Original Message-----
From: Joe Coley [mailto:sjoec@charter.net]
Posted At: Monday, February 20, 2006 6:58 PM
Posted To: crystal-reports
Conversation: Converting to RDC
Subject: Re: Converting to RDC

Guess I'm in for some major reconfigurations with the IDE -- assuming I
can
use the IDE to create the "front end" of the report which already
exists. I
have numerous selections etc. in my callouts to the reports. Do I need
to
make any changes in the actual Crystal report itself? (When you say I
have
to change all of the existing calls ...etc. -- that sounds like
something
for a "real" programmer to do, which is NOT me! Am expecting the IDE to
do
all that work for me.) Will I be disappointed, or can I reasonably
expect
that if I have my report laid out in Crystal that using the IDE I'll be
able
to pretty much do what I have been doing in the IDE?


"David Martinko" <RedeemedSoftware@Hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:Fg7JD9jNGHA.4760@dacmail.dataaccess.com...
> The CrystalReport Class makes calls using API to control printing. The
> cCrystal (RDC) uses COM where the report is actually an object within
your
> program allowing you to talk "directly" to the report.
>
> These are 2 totally different ways of using crystal. They have
different
> messages (or names of messages) so you can't just switch the class and
start
> going. You have to change all of your existing calls to methods that
use
API
> to use the corresponding COM calls.
>
> --
> David Martinko
> Redeemed Software
> 248-535-7495
> RedeemedSoftware(SHIFT+2)Hotmail(PERIOD)com
> www.redeemedsoftware.com
> www.redeemedhosting.com
>
> "Joe Coley" <sjoec@charter.net> wrote in message
> news:DTemnkiNGHA.4760@dacmail.dataaccess.com...
> Should one be able to just callout the new cCrystal class instead of
the
> CrystalReport class and run existing reports which were created within
> either Crystal 9 or 11? I have not had success with it, and just want
to
> verify that I must go through and recreate all my VDF RVs. (Much more
work
> than I am enthused about doing!)
>
>
>
>