PDA

View Full Version : How to, <select> in Beta 2?



JoacimEriksson
24-Oct-2007, 04:38 AM
I have a Sel list, a selection table there I have a few drop down lists like
the State in the Examples, it look nice but I want the field to show value
instead of description ad it seems like it should work with Beta 2, But how?

I also have a problem with that for some fields I have Validation tables
there I want the Blank to be checked. But when I use it I canīt leave it
blanked.

Any ideas? any example codes?

regards

Joacim Eriksson

Harm Wibier
24-Oct-2007, 08:03 AM
Hello Joacim,

It currently isn't possible to choose this. There is the
vdfUseDescriptionValue property but this doesn't work for the select list I
see. I will fix this before the final release. Alternatively you could use
the suggestion functionality instead of using a selection list. The
suggestion functionality displays both value and description (if available).
This can be done using the folowing code:
<input type="text" name="<table>__<field>"
vdfSuggestSource="validationtable">

With "blank to be checked" you have an normal input field with an validation
table but you receive errors if you leave this field empty? I do not know
what the default VDF behavior is here but will put it on the list for some
research.

--
Regards,


Harm Wibier
Data Access Europe B.V.
http://www.dataaccess.nl/

"Joacim Eriksson" <joacim@brl.nu> wrote in message
news:ZYPOxGiFIHA.2320@dacmail.dataaccess.com...
>I have a Sel list, a selection table there I have a few drop down lists
>like the State in the Examples, it look nice but I want the field to show
>value instead of description ad it seems like it should work with Beta 2,
>But how?
>
> I also have a problem with that for some fields I have Validation tables
> there I want the Blank to be checked. But when I use it I canīt leave it
> blanked.
>
> Any ideas? any example codes?
>
> regards
>
> Joacim Eriksson
>
>

JoacimEriksson
24-Oct-2007, 08:29 AM
thaks for the quick reply

this suggestion functionality , do I have to do more then
<input type="text" name="Sel__Fom_Ord_stat"
vdfSuggestSource="validationtable"> there Sel__Fom_Ord_stat is my table
field.

some initialization, and set up of the suggestion or something?

If I had a select on the field it works, but with the "wrong" value shown.

have a nice day

// joacim

"Harm Wibier" <harm.wibier@dataaccess.nl> wrote in message
news:%23vYOQ5jFIHA.752@dacmail.dataaccess.com...
> Hello Joacim,
>
> It currently isn't possible to choose this. There is the
> vdfUseDescriptionValue property but this doesn't work for the select list
> I see. I will fix this before the final release. Alternatively you could
> use the suggestion functionality instead of using a selection list. The
> suggestion functionality displays both value and description (if
> available). This can be done using the folowing code:
> <input type="text" name="<table>__<field>"
> vdfSuggestSource="validationtable">
>
> With "blank to be checked" you have an normal input field with an
> validation table but you receive errors if you leave this field empty? I
> do not know what the default VDF behavior is here but will put it on the
> list for some research.
>
> --
> Regards,
>
>
> Harm Wibier
> Data Access Europe B.V.
> http://www.dataaccess.nl/
>
> "Joacim Eriksson" <joacim@brl.nu> wrote in message
> news:ZYPOxGiFIHA.2320@dacmail.dataaccess.com...
>>I have a Sel list, a selection table there I have a few drop down lists
>>like the State in the Examples, it look nice but I want the field to show
>>value instead of description ad it seems like it should work with Beta 2,
>>But how?
>>
>> I also have a problem with that for some fields I have Validation tables
>> there I want the Blank to be checked. But when I use it I canīt leave it
>> blanked.
>>
>> Any ideas? any example codes?
>>
>> regards
>>
>> Joacim Eriksson
>>
>>
>
>

Harm Wibier
24-Oct-2007, 09:50 AM
It should work like I posted it. It only doesn't do anything untill a
character is typed. It is kind of a google suggest feature that can have
different sources. Unfortunately the new documentation wasn't finished in
time for the Beta 2 release which describes this feature in detail.

--
Regards,


Harm Wibier
Data Access Europe B.V.
http://www.dataaccess.nl/

"Joacim Eriksson" <joacim@brl.nu> wrote in message
news:Q65O4HkFIHA.2320@dacmail.dataaccess.com...
> thaks for the quick reply
>
> this suggestion functionality , do I have to do more then
> <input type="text" name="Sel__Fom_Ord_stat"
> vdfSuggestSource="validationtable"> there Sel__Fom_Ord_stat is my table
> field.
>
> some initialization, and set up of the suggestion or something?
>
> If I had a select on the field it works, but with the "wrong" value shown.
>
> have a nice day
>
> // joacim
>
> "Harm Wibier" <harm.wibier@dataaccess.nl> wrote in message
> news:%23vYOQ5jFIHA.752@dacmail.dataaccess.com...
>> Hello Joacim,
>>
>> It currently isn't possible to choose this. There is the
>> vdfUseDescriptionValue property but this doesn't work for the select list
>> I see. I will fix this before the final release. Alternatively you could
>> use the suggestion functionality instead of using a selection list. The
>> suggestion functionality displays both value and description (if
>> available). This can be done using the folowing code:
>> <input type="text" name="<table>__<field>"
>> vdfSuggestSource="validationtable">
>>
>> With "blank to be checked" you have an normal input field with an
>> validation table but you receive errors if you leave this field empty? I
>> do not know what the default VDF behavior is here but will put it on the
>> list for some research.
>>
>> --
>> Regards,
>>
>>
>> Harm Wibier
>> Data Access Europe B.V.
>> http://www.dataaccess.nl/
>>
>> "Joacim Eriksson" <joacim@brl.nu> wrote in message
>> news:ZYPOxGiFIHA.2320@dacmail.dataaccess.com...
>>>I have a Sel list, a selection table there I have a few drop down lists
>>>like the State in the Examples, it look nice but I want the field to show
>>>value instead of description ad it seems like it should work with Beta 2,
>>>But how?
>>>
>>> I also have a problem with that for some fields I have Validation tables
>>> there I want the Blank to be checked. But when I use it I canīt leave it
>>> blanked.
>>>
>>> Any ideas? any example codes?
>>>
>>> regards
>>>
>>> Joacim Eriksson
>>>
>>>
>>
>>
>
>

JoacimEriksson
25-Oct-2007, 02:57 AM
Ok, then I see...
This do not fit my purpose at this time, I need a llokup of the codemast or
a select there I can choose which field to be shown,
now is the description, I would need the value or better, both :-)

have a nice day

// joacim


"Harm Wibier" <harm.wibier@dataaccess.nl> wrote in message
news:FAG510kFIHA.4116@dacmail.dataaccess.com...
> It should work like I posted it. It only doesn't do anything untill a
> character is typed. It is kind of a google suggest feature that can have
> different sources. Unfortunately the new documentation wasn't finished in
> time for the Beta 2 release which describes this feature in detail.
>
> --
> Regards,
>
>
> Harm Wibier
> Data Access Europe B.V.
> http://www.dataaccess.nl/
>
> "Joacim Eriksson" <joacim@brl.nu> wrote in message
> news:Q65O4HkFIHA.2320@dacmail.dataaccess.com...
>> thaks for the quick reply
>>
>> this suggestion functionality , do I have to do more then
>> <input type="text" name="Sel__Fom_Ord_stat"
>> vdfSuggestSource="validationtable"> there Sel__Fom_Ord_stat is my table
>> field.
>>
>> some initialization, and set up of the suggestion or something?
>>
>> If I had a select on the field it works, but with the "wrong" value
>> shown.
>>
>> have a nice day
>>
>> // joacim
>>
>> "Harm Wibier" <harm.wibier@dataaccess.nl> wrote in message
>> news:%23vYOQ5jFIHA.752@dacmail.dataaccess.com...
>>> Hello Joacim,
>>>
>>> It currently isn't possible to choose this. There is the
>>> vdfUseDescriptionValue property but this doesn't work for the select
>>> list I see. I will fix this before the final release. Alternatively you
>>> could use the suggestion functionality instead of using a selection
>>> list. The suggestion functionality displays both value and description
>>> (if available). This can be done using the folowing code:
>>> <input type="text" name="<table>__<field>"
>>> vdfSuggestSource="validationtable">
>>>
>>> With "blank to be checked" you have an normal input field with an
>>> validation table but you receive errors if you leave this field empty? I
>>> do not know what the default VDF behavior is here but will put it on the
>>> list for some research.
>>>
>>> --
>>> Regards,
>>>
>>>
>>> Harm Wibier
>>> Data Access Europe B.V.
>>> http://www.dataaccess.nl/
>>>
>>> "Joacim Eriksson" <joacim@brl.nu> wrote in message
>>> news:ZYPOxGiFIHA.2320@dacmail.dataaccess.com...
>>>>I have a Sel list, a selection table there I have a few drop down lists
>>>>like the State in the Examples, it look nice but I want the field to
>>>>show value instead of description ad it seems like it should work with
>>>>Beta 2, But how?
>>>>
>>>> I also have a problem with that for some fields I have Validation
>>>> tables there I want the Blank to be checked. But when I use it I canīt
>>>> leave it blanked.
>>>>
>>>> Any ideas? any example codes?
>>>>
>>>> regards
>>>>
>>>> Joacim Eriksson
>>>>
>>>>
>>>
>>>
>>
>>
>
>