PDA

View Full Version : Code generated by reportwizard



Anders Nilsson
17-Oct-2007, 04:00 AM
Hi,

We have just started up our first WebApp project and are using VDF 12.1 and
Ajax 1.1.

I have one question about the code generated by the reportwizard. If you
create a new report completly by the wizard, with no modifications. When you
click on the "Run Report" button the asp page is sending 2 calls to the
server. The first one to setup the selection, which sets properties in the
DD for constraints. The second call actually run the report and use the
properties from the "selection call" to setup the constraints.

Does this realy work with several users running the report at the same time?

Think of this scenario. 2 users run the same report at the same time and the
calls are recieved at the server side in the following order.
1. "Selection call" from user 1
2. "Selection call" from user 2
3. "Run call" from user 1
4. "Run call" from user 2

Which selection is used when the report is created for user 1? As I
understand it, it would be the selection from user 2. Is this correct or is
there something that I have missed? I thought that properties not should be
used in this way.

Regards
Anders Nilsson

Harm Wibier
17-Oct-2007, 04:53 AM
Hello Anders,

The AJAX Library has no special reports wizard. I believe you have used the
origional VDF webapp wizards. The reports in the AJAX samples are just the
"old-school" webapp reports with a new style.

I guess the calls you talk about are ASP calls to the VDF webapp. These are
not AJAX calls! AJAX calls are made from the client using JavaScript and
XmlHttpRequestObject. The calls in the report are made using ASP which is
executed on the server while handling one single page request.

What you say about properties is true, but this applies to separate HTTP
requests. When an ASP request comes in one webapp.exe is assigned to this
request. This webapp.exe handles all the calls that are made from ASP
without handling any other calls in between. After that request the
webapp.exe can be assigned to a new request from a different client (user)
and then properties and DD values set in the last call shouldn't be used any
more.

I hope this clearifies things a bit because AJAX can be very confusing,
especially when just starting with web applications.

--
Regards,


Harm Wibier
Data Access Europe B.V.
http://www.dataaccess.nl/


"Anders Nilsson" <anders.nilsson@logsoft.se> wrote in message
news:AoA6jwJEIHA.752@dacmail.dataaccess.com...
> Hi,
>
> We have just started up our first WebApp project and are using VDF 12.1
> and Ajax 1.1.
>
> I have one question about the code generated by the reportwizard. If you
> create a new report completly by the wizard, with no modifications. When
> you click on the "Run Report" button the asp page is sending 2 calls to
> the server. The first one to setup the selection, which sets properties in
> the DD for constraints. The second call actually run the report and use
> the properties from the "selection call" to setup the constraints.
>
> Does this realy work with several users running the report at the same
> time?
>
> Think of this scenario. 2 users run the same report at the same time and
> the calls are recieved at the server side in the following order.
> 1. "Selection call" from user 1
> 2. "Selection call" from user 2
> 3. "Run call" from user 1
> 4. "Run call" from user 2
>
> Which selection is used when the report is created for user 1? As I
> understand it, it would be the selection from user 2. Is this correct or
> is there something that I have missed? I thought that properties not
> should be used in this way.
>
> Regards
> Anders Nilsson
>

Anders Nilsson
17-Oct-2007, 07:04 AM
Thank's a lot, a very good answer.


"Harm Wibier" <harm.wibier@dataaccess.nl> wrote in message
news:Bk$3eOKEIHA.752@dacmail.dataaccess.com...
> Hello Anders,
>
> The AJAX Library has no special reports wizard. I believe you have used
> the origional VDF webapp wizards. The reports in the AJAX samples are just
> the "old-school" webapp reports with a new style.
>
> I guess the calls you talk about are ASP calls to the VDF webapp. These
> are not AJAX calls! AJAX calls are made from the client using JavaScript
> and XmlHttpRequestObject. The calls in the report are made using ASP which
> is executed on the server while handling one single page request.
>
> What you say about properties is true, but this applies to separate HTTP
> requests. When an ASP request comes in one webapp.exe is assigned to this
> request. This webapp.exe handles all the calls that are made from ASP
> without handling any other calls in between. After that request the
> webapp.exe can be assigned to a new request from a different client (user)
> and then properties and DD values set in the last call shouldn't be used
> any more.
>
> I hope this clearifies things a bit because AJAX can be very confusing,
> especially when just starting with web applications.
>
> --
> Regards,
>
>
> Harm Wibier
> Data Access Europe B.V.
> http://www.dataaccess.nl/
>
>
> "Anders Nilsson" <anders.nilsson@logsoft.se> wrote in message
> news:AoA6jwJEIHA.752@dacmail.dataaccess.com...
>> Hi,
>>
>> We have just started up our first WebApp project and are using VDF 12.1
>> and Ajax 1.1.
>>
>> I have one question about the code generated by the reportwizard. If you
>> create a new report completly by the wizard, with no modifications. When
>> you click on the "Run Report" button the asp page is sending 2 calls to
>> the server. The first one to setup the selection, which sets properties
>> in the DD for constraints. The second call actually run the report and
>> use the properties from the "selection call" to setup the constraints.
>>
>> Does this realy work with several users running the report at the same
>> time?
>>
>> Think of this scenario. 2 users run the same report at the same time and
>> the calls are recieved at the server side in the following order.
>> 1. "Selection call" from user 1
>> 2. "Selection call" from user 2
>> 3. "Run call" from user 1
>> 4. "Run call" from user 2
>>
>> Which selection is used when the report is created for user 1? As I
>> understand it, it would be the selection from user 2. Is this correct or
>> is there something that I have missed? I thought that properties not
>> should be used in this way.
>>
>> Regards
>> Anders Nilsson
>>
>
>