Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Client Area Image

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    965

    Default Client Area Image

    Hi All

    Has anyone tried to the put the image control directly onto the client area?

    We allow our users to set a background image in the client area, we also have a default image that we ship out. As the image needs to be a bitmap, a default image is quite large, 5 meg, and over terminal services takes a while to load up. That same image could be a 128k jpeg.
    Cheers,

    Thomas Murphy
    Triumph Business Systems Pty Ltd
    www.triumph.com.au

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    2,863

    Default Re: Client Area Image

    Hi Tom

    We have not, but would be very interested to do so for the same reason as yours!

    Cheers,
    Marco
    Marco Kuipers
    DataFlex Consultant
    28 IT Pty Ltd - DataFlex Specialist Consultancy
    DataFlex Channel Partner for Australia and Pacific region
    Adelaide, South Australia
    www.28it.com.au

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    965

    Default Re: Client Area Image

    Bump

    Has anyone tried this? Vincent?
    Cheers,

    Thomas Murphy
    Triumph Business Systems Pty Ltd
    www.triumph.com.au

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Maasland, The Netherlands
    Posts
    2,605

    Default Re: Client Area Image

    Hi Tom,

    I didn't try it, but isn't it possible with the Graphics Library?
    Best regards,

    Peter van Mil
    Appvantage b.v.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Dunedin, New Zealand
    Posts
    533

    Default Re: Client Area Image

    If you are using codejock command bars - try this.

    It is from my ribbon menu class.
    Refer the code regarding display image.
    The background image is a the bit map file in the background property.

    Code:
    // override default vdfsig method
        Procedure DisplayTabWorkspace
            Boolean bShow
            Handle hoTab hoTabPaintManager hoTabPaintManagercolorSet
            Variant vTab vTabPaintManager vTabPaintManagerColorSet
            
            If (IsComObjectCreated(Self)) Begin
                Get pbTabWorkspace to bShow
                Get Create U_cCJTabWorkspace to hoTab
                Get ComShowTabWorkspace bShow to vTab
                Set pvComObject of hoTab to vTab
                Set ComFlags of hoTab to 0 // xtpWorkspaceHideAll // allow to choose
                // The following adds background image
                If (pbAllowBackgroundImage(Self) = True) Begin
                   Set ComAutoTheme of hoTab to False      // false
                   // ComThemedBackColor = true gets color ex theme
                   // comThemedBackColor = false get color ex backcolor of form
                   Set ComThemedBackColor of hoTab to False 
                   Set Bitmap_Style of (ClientAreaObject(ghoCommandBars)) to Bitmap_Center
                   Set Bitmap  of (ClientAreaObject(ghoCommandBars)) to (psBackgroundImage(Self))
                End
                // Tab Paint Manager
                // Paint manager for open view tabs 
                Get Create U_cCJTabPaintManager to hoTabPaintManager
                Set pvComObject of hoTabPaintManager to (ComPaintManager(hoTab))
                Set ComAppearance of hoTabPaintManager to xtpTabAppearancePropertyPage2003
                Set ComBoldSelected of hoTabPaintManager to True
                Set ComColor of hoTabPaintManager to xtpTabColorOffice2007
                Set ComClearTypeTextQuality of hoTabPaintManager to True
                Set ComDrawTextPathEllipsis of hoTabPaintManager to True
                Set ComHotTracking of hoTabPaintManager to True
                Set ComLayout of hoTabPaintManager to xtpTabLayoutMultiRow // goes behind groups if minimised
                Set ComMultiRowFixedSelection of hoTabPaintManager to False
                Set ComMultiRowJustified of hoTabPaintManager to True
                Set ComPosition of hoTabPaintManager to xtpTabPositionTop
                Set ComRotateImageOnVerticaldraw of hoTabPaintManager to True
                Set ComToolTipBehaviour of hoTabPaintManager to xtpTabToolTipAlways
                // Tab Colorset
                Get ComColorSet of hoTabPaintManager to vTabPaintManagerColorSet
                Get Create u_cCjTabPaintManagerColorSet to hoTabPaintManagerColorSet
                Set pvComObject of hoTabPaintManagerColorSet to vTabPaintManagerColorSet
                Set ComPaneFace of hoTabPaintManagerColorSet to clBlack
                Send Destroy of hoTabPaintManagerColorSet
                Send Destroy of hoTabPaintManager
                Send destroy of hoTab
                Send ComRecalcLayout
            End
        End_Procedure

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    965

    Default Re: Client Area Image

    Hi Russell

    Thanks for the code, we are doing something similar now to display a background image. But what we're really want to do is move away from bitmaps, our current default background image is 5meg but as a jpg it's 100k, a big difference.
    Cheers,

    Thomas Murphy
    Triumph Business Systems Pty Ltd
    www.triumph.com.au

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    965

    Default Re: Client Area Image

    Hi All

    Ok I got it working, was pretty easy in the end. The main thing to remember is to set the Client_Area_State in the Client Area to true to allow child objects.

    A couple things though, I still need to get rid of the scroll bars in the image container. Also setting the image to fit both sides doesn't show the whole image (as the help says it might not) but I would expect it to, even if it's distorted but that's up to me.
    Cheers,

    Thomas Murphy
    Triumph Business Systems Pty Ltd
    www.triumph.com.au

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Hengelo, Netherlands
    Posts
    10,869

    Default Re: Client Area Image

    Tom,

    AFAIK that is only at disk... in memory it all bitmaps always.
    Regards,
    Data Access Worldwide
    Vincent Oorsprong

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Hengelo, Netherlands
    Posts
    10,869

    Default Re: Client Area Image

    Tom,

    Don't use client area bitmaps for about 10 years anymore and I never tried to place a GDI+ image there. Technically I think it should work. I have no time around now to go experimenting.
    Regards,
    Data Access Worldwide
    Vincent Oorsprong

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    2,863

    Default Re: Client Area Image

    Hi Tom

    Am interested in some code of what you have sofar. Would you be willing to share?

    Cheers,
    Marco
    Marco Kuipers
    DataFlex Consultant
    28 IT Pty Ltd - DataFlex Specialist Consultancy
    DataFlex Channel Partner for Australia and Pacific region
    Adelaide, South Australia
    www.28it.com.au

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •